2021 GTNT Group Training Awards

2021 GTNT Group Awards

The GTNT Group Training Awards are GTNT Group's annual premier event recognising training excellence and achievements by Northern Territory host businesses, stakeholders, trainers, apprentices, trainees and students. Our 2021 award ceremony will be held on the lawns at Mindil Beach Casino and Resort on Friday 21 May 2021.

Award Categories & Nominations

2021 Key Dates

  • Nomination close: 29 January 2021
  • Finalists announced: 5 February 2021
  • Individual judging: 22 February 2021
  • Awards Night: 21 May 2021


2021 Award Categories 

  • Apprentice of the Year
  • Trainee of the Year
  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Apprentice or Trainee of the Year
  • David Beavington Automotive Apprentice of the Year
  • School-based Apprentice or Trainee of the Year
  • Supervisor of the Year
  • Host Business of the Year
  • Outstanding Apprentice: Stage 1
  • Outstanding Apprentice: Stage 2
  • Outstanding Apprentice: Stage 3
  • Prelude to the Future: Most Outstanding Shell Apprentice


Nominations have now closed!

Our 2020 Winners & Finalists

2020 GTNT Group Awards

Due to the unprecedented situation surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic and its impact on our ability to physically gather in groups, we decided to hold the 2020 GTNT Group Awards ceremony as an online broadcast, which took place on Tuesday 12 May 2020. You can watch the full video below! By running our awards ceremony in this format, we were able to celebrate our fantastic community while doing our part to minimise the threat of the coronavirus in the NT. 

Apprentice of the Year

Winner: Michael Francis, Power & Water Corporation, Certificate III in Electro-technology Electrician 

Finalists: Tess Hanna,  Power & Water Corporation, Callum DiFrancesco, Bridge Toyota Darwin

Trainee of the Year

Winner: Tanisha Garling, Kalano Community Association, Certificate II in Community Services

Finalists: Luke Roberts, Dept. of Infrastructure, Planning & Lands, Sharni Tyrrell, Foster & Kinship Carers Association NT

Indigenous Apprentice/ Trainee of the Year

Winner: Rodney Nagawalli, Darwin Port Operations, Certificate III in Engineering - Fabrication Trade

Finalists: Harmony Plues, Australia Early Childhood Association NT, Luke Roberts, Dept. of Infrastructure, Planning & Lands

David Beavington Award for Most Outstanding Automotive Apprentice

Winner: Shannon Chuter, GEMCO, Certificate III in Automotive Electrical Technology

Finalists: Kervy Koting, Bridge Toyota Palmerston, Melanie Scorgie, GEMCO, Thomas Richardson, Territory Rent-a-car Unit Trust

School-based Apprentice/ Trainee of the Year

Winner: Courtney Anderson, Dept. of Health (Alice Springs), Certificate III in Business

Finalists: Katlyn Craig, NT Friendship & Support, Letisha Lami, Jabiru Families as First Teachers Program

Supervisor of the Year

Winner: Travis Messner, Dept. of Tourism, Sports & Culture - Territory Wildlife Park

Finalists: Garth Doyle, Gebie Civil & Construction, Sean Caffery, Power & Water Corporation  

Host Business of the Year

Winner: GEMCO South 32

Finalists: Menzies School of Health Research, Kalano Community Association 

Outstanding Apprentice; Stage 1

Winner: Shannah Mudge, Aggreko, Certificate III in Auto Diesel Engine Technology & Certificate III in Electrical Fitting

Finalists: David Hemopo, Bridge Toyota Darwin, Heidi Hughes, GEMCO

Outstanding Apprentice; Stage 2

Winner: Edward Clarke, Broadspectrum & Cegelec Oil and Gas, Certificate III in Engineering (Mechanical Trade)

Finalists: Kelly Reddy, Darwin City Refrigeration, Mary Coulter, GEMCO

Outstanding Apprentice; Stage 3

Winner: Michael Bowden, Power & Water Corporation, Certificate III in Electro-technology Electrician

Finalists: Dion Wright, Bridge Toyota Palmerston, Nicholas Sayson, Bridge Toyota Darwin

Prelude to the Future; Most Outstanding Shell Apprentice

Winner: Victoria Lang, Certificate III in Auto Diesel Engine Technology & Certificate III in Electrical Fitting

Finalists: Doni Robertson, Elisha Wright, Vu Trinh

Local Jobs Human Services Most Outstanding Trainee

Winner: Tanisha Garling, Kalano Community Association, Certificate II in Community Services

Thank You To Our Amazing 2020 Sponsors!


Bridge Toyota Master Builders NT